FPN AskPsy

You are here

Organisational structure

Faculty Board
Faculty Council
Programme Directors
Educational Programme Committee
Board of Examiners
Research Committee
Library Committee
Colloquium Doctum Committee

A shorter overview of the organisational structure is available on the UM website.

FPN has two main tasks: to organise and carry out education and research. Ultimate responsibility rests with the Dean. The Dean and three board members for: research and valorisation, education and innovation, and internationalisation make up the Faculty Board. The board is advised by a democratically elected representation body, the Faculty Council.
All staff at FPN belongs to one of the faculty’s five departments or the Faculty Office. FPN’s research is organised in five departments: Clinical Psychological Science, Cognitive Neuroscience, Work and Social Psychology, Neuropsychology and Psychopharmacology, and Methodology and Statistics.

Faculty Board

The main administrative body of the Faculty of Psychology and Neuroscience is the Faculty Board. The board consists of four members: the dean (also the chair) and two members responsible for research and education respectively. It also includes a secretary-director. The board meetings are attended by two students, in advisory capacities, who are appointed by the board after being nominated by the Faculty Council’s student members.

The chair and the board members in charge of education and research are appointed by Maastricht University’s Executive Board, usually for four and three years respectively. The student advisers are usually appointed for one year.

The board is responsible for the faculty’s general management, administration, organisation and structure of its education and research.

The board of the Faculty of Psychology and Neuroscience is composed as follows:
Faculty board 2023-2024
DeanHarald Merckelbach
Vice dean EducationPetra Hurks
Vice dean ResearchRainer Goebel
Vice dean Recognition & RewardsCarolien Martijn
Managing DirectorPascal Stevens
Student member (as adviser)Irena Xhari

Faculty Council
The board is advised by and consults regularly with a democratically elected representation body: the Faculty Council. The council advises the board upon request or of its own accord. It consists of ten members: four elected from the academic staff, one from the support staff , and five from the FPN students.

Monthly meetings are in room A5.772 15.30 - 18.00 hrs and are open to UM students and staff.
21 September 2023, 12 October, 16 November, 14 December (14.00 to 17.00hrs),
8 January 2024, 22 February, 21 March, 18 April, 16 May, 13 June and 2 July 2024.


Faculty council 2023-2024

Names of the 2023-2024 Faculty Council members are known after the first meeting on 21 September 2023.
Academic staffNatasha Mason
Alicia Walkowiak
Bram Fleuren
Michael Capalbo (chair)
Nathan Lassen  (vice chair)
Support staffCaroline van Loo-Frantzen
Student membersHannah Finklenburg
Lilly Schröder
Ernest van Nispen tot Pannerden
Nathan Lassen
Maike Hinrichs
SecretaryMarléon Vijgen

Programme Directors
The programme director coordinates and organises the preparation and execution of the study and examination programme of the corresponding programme(s). In this, he or she advises the Faculty Board on the content of programme and examination regulations, and, as board executive and advisor, is closely involved in the quality assurance of the programme.

The Faculty of Psychology and Neuroscience has two programme directors:

  • Herco Fonteijn (Bachelor)
  • Sjir Uitdewilgen (Master programmes)
 See also:  Programme and specialisation contacts

Educational Programme Committee
The Educational Programme Committee provides advice on the amelioration and safe-guarding of the quality of the FPN curricula, including the EER. The committee consists of ten members: five staff members and five  student members.  See also:  Opleidingscommissies.nl
Educational Programme Committee 2023-2024
StaffArie van der Lugt (chair)
Maarten Peters
Bram Fleuren
Katrijn Houben
Pauline Dibbets
StudentsGabriela Krasnowska
Lara Stevens
Ella Rumohr
Antonia Raissle
Fabienne Behrendt
SecretaryWladimir van Mansum

Board of Examiners
The Board of Examiners is responsible for implementing the education and examination regulations. It also deals with exemption requests and complaints about exams and exam assessments, but only if the student and the course coordinator are unable to solve the problem together.
See also:  Board of Examiners.

Composition of the Board of Examiners:
ChairFleurie Nievelstein
Chair for Bachelor affairs

Franc Donkers
Chair for Master affairs

Peter Muris
Karlijn Massar until 31-08-2023
Glynis Bogaard
Marjan Govaerts
Linda Vancleef
Sanne Houben

SecretariesMartien Jenneskens
Marjolein Bastin from1 Aug. 2023

Research Committee
The faculty board is advised by the research committee (onderzoeksraad; ORa), a body that represents the interests of the two overarching research programmes/departments. The research committee evaluates and discusses feasibility of PhD projects, plans for large investments in research infrastructure (costs exceeding k €25), and all other matters that relate to broad research issues. The research committee meets every month.

The ORa consists of the chairpersons of the four departments, and the director of the FPN Graduate School. The board member Research attends the ORa meetings as an informant. The ORa is professionally supported by the research policy officer FPN, Rense Hoekstra MSc.

Library Committee
Responsible for acquiring literature for the library and Learning and Research Centre.
Contact: Philip Verduyn, Philip.Verduyn@maastrichtuniversity.nl

Colloquium Doctum Committee
The colloquium doctum committee is charged with implementing the colloquium doctum regulation.

Chair: Eliza de Sousa Fernandes Perna

See also

Education Office
Research Departments
Programme and specialisation contacts

Last modified: Fri, 22/09/2023 - 09:38

You are here